RSS Feed

Custom Accent Pillows

Last night I was able to complete 5 throw pillows for a project I was working on for a co-worker. I used a sewing machine and it took me less then 3 hours, keep in mind I do not sew on a regular basis. I love the idea of creating my own pillows as they are one of a kind pieces that you will not find in your local department store. The color options and combinations are endless and you can create any size pillow you would like, get creative!

I don’t like to be bound by standards, such as sizes, this can create problems if you want to use pillow inserts, so keep this in mind.

Supplies to create your own pillows:

  • Fabric– this is where you can step outside of your box and combine various colors and patterns. You will need at least one yard of fabric to create two large pillows (A yard and a quarter (1 1/4) of 45″ fabric, or a yard (1) of 55″ fabric). I like to use large pillows as my base pillow and then create smaller pillows to accent with. I often purchase my fabric from fabric.com. They ship free for purchases over $35.00, returns are free and the shipping is super fast!
  • Velcro– My savior! With kids and pets I have to be able to wash my pillows. I always use no-sew velcro on one end of my pillows so I can quickly take out the innards and toss the pillow cover in the washer. DO NOT PLACE IN DRYER, AIR DRY ONLY!
  • Misc Supplies– A sewing machine, iron, ironing surface, pins, scissors, thread and polyfill.

Steps to creating your pillow:

  1. Fold the fabric in half, with the right sides together (the patterned side or part that will show).
  2. Measure the size and shape of your pillow, or simply free form your design . Add ¼ inch all around and use a fabric pencil to mark a straight line around the edges, this is where you will sew.
  3. Cut the shapes out.
  4. Use straight pins to pin the fabric pieces together, with the right sides together.
  5. With a sewing machine or needle and thread, sew the edges of the fabric pieces together, creating a ¼-inch seam. Leave a small opening on one side so that you can stuff the pillow (leave it large enough so you can take the stuffing out if you would like to wash your pillow cover).
  6. Turn the pillow right side out, and stuff the inside with pillow stuffing or a pillow insert.
  7. Use your iron to iron on the no-sew velcro to the small opening you left, this will allow you to wash your pillow.

Color pallet of pillows I made last night, enjoy!

pillow color pallet

About charmedpumpkin

From old to new with a dash of elbow grease and a sprinkle of talent. Charmed Pumpkin refinishes furnishings and creates home accent pieces for a one of a kind look.

Leave a Reply

